Anime Review: Nurarihyon no Mago Season 2 Episode 5

Anime Review:
Nurarihyon no Mago Season 2 Episode 5

What this is about: Watching all of the anime shows so you don’t have to! For more information about me and my reviews, click here for details on what I am reviewing.

Series Premise: Nurarihyon no Mago, or “Nura: Rise of the Yokai Clan” is a weekly anime television series based on a Shonen Jump manga series. The first season aired between July and December 2010, and a second season, subtitled “Sennen Makyou”, began airing in July 2011. Rikuo Nura is one-quarter demon and the heir of the infamous Nura Demon Clan, who is relucant to embrace his demon heritage and succeed his grandfather. But as he turns twelve, he comes to accept his demon heritage and lead his cadre of demons as rival factions vie for control.

Click on the thumbnails below to view the picture in full size in a new window:

Quick Episode Summary: Nurarihyon quick heads off to the castle to save Yohime from certain death, and ends up facing an enemy of incredible power. With the help of his loyal comrades as well as the head of the Kekain Clan, he ultimately bests her, saving the princess, and the rest is history.

My Impressions: Sorry I’ve been distracted with other hobbies, so my reviews have been falling further behind. But as I’ve expressed before, I ultimately don’t care how far behind I fall compared to everyone else, I’m going to take my own sweet time at this, because rushing it would lessen the enjoyment.

But even that being said, a little bit of brevity can’t hurt to get the ball rolling, so I’m spending less time typing and more time watching.

So the short reaction is: Eh, it’s okay. This was the second part of a “flashback” episode, and I’ve already said I’ve found those a chore. Yet I didn’t hate the first part, and likewise I wasn’t turned off by the second part, either. But hopefully that means they’ll get back to modern-day Japan and the main story, now that the proper “setting” has been set for the next story arc (I guess…) Neither impressed or unimpressed, time to move forward.

Gotta admit, though, I am still mildly impressed at the production values in the second season compared to the first. They really stepped up their game, and it shows.

The verdict:


For more information:

Sampling of Online Reviews:

  • “I actually enjoyed episode five. The fighting is pretty good, they’re actually fighting, unlike what they did in season one. There are lots and lots and lots of blood too, woohoo! More blood is always better. The animation of this episode is well done, so I have nothing to complain about it. ” – Metanorn
  • “There is not a wasted moment in this episode and that might be the issue. It felt like the continued nicely from last episode’s foundation and continued to build on that story, but towards the end, it felt rushed with Haguro Gitsune finished off in a minute from when Hidemoto appears. Also, the reason for why the Nura Clan was there in the first place felt really ignored and it felt like there is a lack of a substantial back-story and it was mostly just a ‘we are there to be the best’ expectable and acceptable reason without much creativity or depth to it.” – Otakuness
  • “Well, all things considered, this episode was actually rather decent. The fight scenes are still sorely lacking in terms of good choreography and buildup of tension, but aside from that, this was a pretty cool backstory episode.” – Emory Anime Club
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Anime Review: Nurarihyon no Mago Season 2 Episode 5

  1. Pingback: Anime Review: Nurarihyon no Mago Season 2 Episode 6 | This Euphoria!

Leave a comment