Anime Review: Ikoku Meiro no Croisee Episode 4

Anime Review:
Ikoku Meiro no Croisee Episode 4

What this is about: Watching all of the anime shows so you don’t have to! For more information about me and my reviews, click here for details on what I am reviewing.

Series Premise: Ikoku Meiro no Croisee, or “Croisee in the Foreign Labyrinth”, is a weekly televised anime series started in July 2011, based on a manga by the same name. Yune, a young Japanese girl, follows a French businessman back to nineteenth century Paris where he introduces her to Claude, who runs a struggling ironworking shop, where she has to adapt to a totally different culture, while he also tries to understand her.

Click on the thumbnails below to view the picture in full size in a new window:

Episode Summary: Alice is steadfastly determined to make Yune her own, and forcefully invites her over for tea. Yune agrees to go out of courtesy and respect, despite Claude’s misgivings. Alice invites Yune to stay at the Blanche household permanently, offering her luxuries that Claude could never offer, even the priceless kimono. But Yune declines, saying that she must believe in Claude and his promise he made to her.

My Impressions: No surprises here: Time for Round Four of AWWWWWWWW LOOK HOW CUTE YUNE IS!

And yeah, that’s the bulk of what the series is all about, and has ever been about, and I suspect it ever will be about. There’s some interesting stuff about the cultural clash between the two totally different societies (and by that I mean 19th century Japan and Europe, but we have a new comparison of societies forming between lower-class Claude and upper-crust Alice, too), and an interesting look at an anime-ized, rose-colored-glasses idealized version of pre-1900 Paris. But the bulk of Ikoku Meiro no Croisee is giving the viewer an opportunity to fawn over one of the most “moe” characters in the history of Japanese animation. In fact, I am tempted to define “Yune” as a measurement of moe-ness, and all other Japanese characters level of moe-ness would be measured in terms of centiyunes or milliyunes.

Anyway, just another episode, as I mentioned before no real surprises here, if you liked any of the first three episodes, no doubt you’ll like this one as well. And because of that, no change in my opinion. I was on the fence before, and remain on the fence after. I mean, Yune sure is cute and all…but is that all there is to this? I want more.

The verdict: – I really need to find some thumbnails that are halfway between thumbs up and thumbs down. So, how do you visually condense the concept of “eh-ness” in a thumbnail, anyway?


For more information:

Sampling of Online Reviews:

  • “I guess that Alice does spice up this series a bit. As long as she doesn’t take over the series it’ll probably be fine. This, because I do wonder what this series has planned for the long run: how does it want to end? How far will the characters develop?” – Star Crossed Anime Blog
  • “I’m already wondering how they’ll move forward with nothing particularly happening. I wonder if the whole season will be like this, until the end where something will happen. Yune may go back to Japan or be abducted by slave traders or something. I like it though, so I’ll sit back and enjoy the ride. More like a stroll really.” – Moe Monster
  • “There’s no question, Yune is absolutely one of the cutest things ever. She’s ridiculous. But it totally works, because she’s actually got an iron will inside that tiny little body. It’s beyond me how any human could resist loving her, so I guess I don’t blame Alice for that” – Lost in America
  • “I swear, I could just make the whole review “Yune, why are you so adorable/cute/etc.?” and be done with the review. Once again, she’s adorable as ever though I think she really handled herself well here.” – Anime Evo
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anime Review: Ikoku Meiro no Croisee Episode 4

  1. Pingback: Anime Review: Ikoku Meiro Episode 5 | This Euphoria!

  2. Pingback: Anime Review: Ikoku Meiro no Croisee Episode 6 | This Euphoria!

Leave a Reply

