Anime Review: Nichijou Episode 7

Anime Review:
Nichijou Episode 7

What this is about: Watching all of the anime shows so you don’t have to! For more information about me and my reviews, click here for details on what I am reviewing.

Series Premise: Nichijou, or “My Ordinary Life”, is a weekly anime television series that started in April 2011, based on a comedy manga series by Keiichi Arawi. The story follows the everyday life and adventures of a few first-year high school students and the people around them, including an underage professor and her robotic maid, a goat-riding student and his butler, and other quirky characters.

Click on the thumbnails below to view the picture in full size in a new window:

Episode Summary: The origin of Mio’s wooden cube hairbands is revealed, as they secretly hold the key to an imaginary fantasy empire. Teacher Takasaki is conflicted over his desires for fellow teacher Sakurai, and gets all gawky/fumbly around her. Nano is teased by a passerby about her wind-up key, and Sakamoto is flabbergasted at how Nano and The Professor “play” baseball.

My Impressions: I know that I have alternately panned or praised Nichijou episodes in the past, and as with all sketch comedies there are always going to be uproarious hits and groan-inducing misses. But now, after enough episodes and exposure to the unusual style of humor, I think I am finally warming up to it. Throughout much of this episode, I realized I was watching with a silly grin on my face. I “grok” Nichijou.

I have a feeling that everyone who is working on the show, from the writers to the animators to the voice actors are having a ball making each episode. And it seems to shine through in the production. It’s a rather interesting mix of sublime, understated humor at times, contrasted with ridiculous, over-the-top situations, I’m not sure how to describe it. But I’ve finally come to the conclusion Nichijou is fun, I’m anxious to see what inconceivable situation they’ll think of next, and I think I’m sold on the rest of the season. Will there still be some duds along the way? Oh, I’m sure, but as long as the good outweighs the bad, I’m down with that.

P.S. It’s a tiny little thing, but I found it hilarious that timid Sakurai’s anxiousness has it’s own, unique sound effect. Who knew sweat could be so loud?

The verdict:


For more information:

Sampling of Online Reviews:

  • “You know what’s weird about Nichijou? It’s actually funny by trying its best to be unfunny at all. I don’t know how to describe it any how. It doesn’t actively try to solicit laughter and much rather prefers to remain as bizarre and random as possible without being outright, full-on weird at all but it’s exactly that which is making the show a laugh-out-loud affair every week for me now. ” – Kurogane’s Anime Blog
  • “Nichijou seems to be growing ever-more reliant on its over the top reaction shots to every joke and punchline in the hope that such reactions will somehow boost the comic potential of the scene – put simply, it doesn’t work, and if anything it detracts from what you’ve just seen, yet it’s something the series series seems determined to persevere with it.” – Hanners’ Anime Blog
  • “I would rather have Nichijou to keep telling the jokes as it used to. It’s good at that. That’s why I found this episode slightly a let down compared to the previous episodes. Although the jokes that are told are still hilarious, it just could be that more if they spent less time on semi-jokes showing character development. So depending how you like your comedies, this episode might be worse or even better than the previous ones.” – Polychromium
  • “with some earlier shows, not every gag or joke will work. When several of the “rapid style jokes” or the “long set-up, big punch line jokes” don’t seem very funny, it can really drag down the timing and overall enjoyability of a particular episode. That being said Nichijou continues to separate and divide people who otherwise have very similar tastes in comedy. More so, in fact, than any other show I can think of at the moment.” – Moe Monster
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anime Review: Nichijou Episode 7

  1. Pingback: Anime Review: Nichijou Episode 8 | This Euphoria!

  2. Pingback: Anime Review: Nichijou Episode 9 | This Euphoria!

Leave a Reply

