Anime Review: Nekogami Yaoyorozu Episode 3

Anime Review:
Nekogami Yaoyorozu Episode 3

What this is about: Watching all of the anime shows so you don’t have to! For more information about me and my reviews, click here for details on what I am reviewing.

Series Premise: Nekogami Yaoyorozu, or “Cat God”, is a weekly television anime series started in July 2011, based on a comedy manga series of the same name. Mayu the Cat God has been stripped of her powers and banished to the human world for her misbehavior, where she lazes around with the owner of an antique shop with the rest of her friends.

Click on the thumbnails below to view the picture in full size in a new window:

Episode Summary: Yukina Kamo is a popular manga artist who uses a team spritely assistants to finish her latest job, but they run off when another impossible deadline approaches. She enlists the help of Shamo, who brings along Mayu and all of her friends to fill in. But when that does not work out as well as planned, they try to hunt down the assistants, who are off playing survival games in the forest.

My Impressions: Here’s the deal — I watched this about a week ago. Then I came back before I did the video image captures and tried to think of a point or two I could write up this review. And for the life of me, I could not remember a single thing about this episode. I could recall stuff from the first two episodes, but this one I was drawing a complete blank. So, I decided to make it a little contest to see how long it would take, without any help, before I could remember what this episode was about.

It took thirty minutes.

And I came to the conclusion that if Nekogami Yaoyorozu was so spectacularly uninteresting that it left such a light impression on my mind — especially a show that relies on heavy doses of humor as its primary selling point — that it might not be the best show to continue watching.

Regarding the episode (once I remembered), I recall being frustrated by opening with several minutes of images of some manga I knew nothing about with voice-overs, and wondering what the hell that has to do with anything. I can’t say that I was particularly impressed with the jokes, either. The first episode showed a certain amount of promise, and I was hopeful. But the second episode was pretty flat, and the third episode, flat as well. Sorry, Cat God, you’re just not quite interesting enough to continue watching.

The verdict:


For more information:

Sampling of Online Reviews:

  • “The plot itself was rather clichéd fare, so the ending was extremely predictable. I don’t actually mind too much. The fun of this series comes from the journey, not the end. The comedy is still hit-or-miss, you like it or you don’t. I personally didn’t laugh at any of the jokes as of yet, but I love watching the characters too much to care that it’s not always “laugh out loud” funny. And the animation (though simple) is as slick as always. Grade: 3/5.” – Moeronpan
  • “If there is one word that sums up Cat God, it is predictable. The jokes are predictable. The conflicts are predictable. The resolutions are predictable. Whether you enjoy this show or not will be predictable. There is nothing particularly wrong with Cat God. The humor is neither offensive nor troublesome. But that is perhaps part of what the problem is: it is a show that takes no risks of any sort. Grade: C+.” – The Fandom Post
  • I really had to dig around on Google to find just those two reviews. Apparently it’s been dropped from the regular troupe of blog reviewers early on — so I’m not alone in my unenthusiastic reaction.

ROUND THREE RESULTS FOR SUMMER 2011 SHOWS:

Thumbs-up for Round Three: Mawaru Penguin Drum, Kamisama Dolls, No. 6, Ikoku Meiro no Croisee

Thumbs-down for Round Three: Dantalian no Shoka, Nekogami Yaoyorozu

Coming up next: Kamisama no Memochou, Nurarihyon no Mago Second Season, Natsume Yuujinchou-san, Usagi Drop

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anime Review: Nekogami Yaoyorozu Episode 3

  1. Pingback: Anime Review: Where Things Stand as of February 4, 2012 | This Euphoria!

Leave a Reply

