Anime Review: Steins;Gate Episode 6

Anime Review:
Steins;Gate Episode 6

What this is about: Watching all of the anime shows so you don’t have to! For more information about me and my reviews, click here for details on what I am reviewing.

Series Premise: Steins;Gate is a 24-episode weekly television series that started in April 2011, based on an X-Box video game by 5pb. A small group of friends headed by self-proclaimed mad scientist Rintarou Okabe (a.k.a. Hououin) manage to create a way to send messages into the past using a modified microwave oven. However, a larger, more sinister government organization has also been doing research in time travel and Rintarou’s group soon finds itself in danger.

Click on the thumbnails below to view the picture in full size in a new window:

Episode Summary: The lab members determine the Phone Microwave (Name Subject to Change) is not so much of a time travel machine but a way to send messages to the past, which they dub “D-Mails”. With further experimentation, they figure out the limitations on what and how they can send the messages. Moeka, still obsessed with the IBN-5100 shows up to the lab, and is inducted as the newest lab member.

My Impressions: I need to make these “review” entries shorter and more concise — firstly because I’m poking along at about one episode every month-or-so, and at this rate I won’t finish up the (24-episode) series until 2014. Also, because by this point (episode 6), pretty much anyone reading reviews of a show is already watching it, or has already watched it. So…less verbosity, unless something really grinds my gears.

I have come to the conclusion that Steins;Gate is not really all that and a bag of chips. As a certified hard-sci-fi geek, the “science” part of the science fiction are what grabbed me. But six episodes in, Steins;Gate is really plodding along at a snail’s pace, revealing the tiniest nuggets of information each episode. Meanwhile, it spends most of its effort on rounding out and enriching the characters. That’s all fine and dandy…except the only person that is truly interesting is the mad scientist protagonist himself, Rintarou. The rest of the crew are various levels of annoying or bland, and Rintarou himself probably isn’t enough to carry the rest of the cast. So, with the plot still stuck in first gear and the characters themselves not really tickling my fancy, in the end I’m left back at where I started: the “science”. And at this point, I’m still interested enough to stick around because I want to know more about what’s really going on with the messages to the past, the alternate realities, the CERN connection.

This time around we have more verbal jousting between Rintarou and Kurisu; we have more of Daru acting like a mouth-breathing pervert; we have more of Mayuri going into full ditz mode. As an added annoyance, we have the autistic I-only-talk-through-cell-phone stalker Moeka arrive at Rintarou’s doorstep with her attention focused like a laser on that damned computer. Could it be any more obvious that Moeka is much, much more than just some crazy girl? Much in the same way that it is so blatantly obvious that the part-timer Suzuha is hiding something as well? Well, we’ll see how it all plays out, we’ll see (I’m only speculating here) who is the SERN double-agent, and who is the girl for the future/alternate reality. I just hope it doesn’t take all 24 episodes of the series before SOMETHING ACTUALLY HAPPENS.

The verdict:


For more information:

Sampling of Online Reviews:

  • “While I’ve been watching this show I’ve noticed that it’s incredibly obvious that it’s an adaptation of a visual novel. The only experience I’ve had with visual novels are with free dating sims I’ve found online, but even that is enough to notice a similarity between the way characters conveniently run into each other in the middle of nowhere.” – Sea Slugs!
  • “I finished this episode thinking: They used used up another episode and I don’t feel we went anywhere.” – Hachimitsu
  • “Are some of you losing patience and skipping episodes while waiting for me to tell you when things get really exciting? After episode’s 5 sudden increase in speed, episode 6 feels like it was at a standstill. I won’t deny that Steins;Gate is a slow burn and just barely has enough substance per episode to keep me hanging on. But I could never leave myself hanging after coming this far.” – Metanorn
  • “Overall the conspiracy is continuing to develop nicely, but is being set on the backburner to the great dialogue and character development. ” – Draggle’s Anime Blog
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Anime Review: Steins;Gate Episode 6

  1. Pingback: Anime Review: Where Things Stand as of February 4, 2012 | This Euphoria!

  2. Pingback: Anime Review: Steins;Gate Episode 7 | This Euphoria!

  3. Pingback: Anime Review: Steins;Gate Episode 8 | This Euphoria!

  4. Pingback: Anime Review: Steins;Gate Episode 9 | This Euphoria!

Leave a Reply

