Anime Review: Carnival Phantasm Episode 1

Anime Review:
Carnival Phantasm Episode 1

What this is about: Watching all of the anime shows so you don’t have to! For more information about me and my reviews, click here for details on what I am reviewing.

Series Premise: Carnival Phantasm is a twelve-part Original Video Animation project, started in August 2011, produced by gaming and visual novel company Type Moon. As part of their tenth anniversary, Carnival Phantasm takes several of the company’s most popular projects, including Melty Blood, Fate Stay/Night, and Tsukihime and re-imagines them in a self-parodying format.

Click on the thumbnails below to view the picture in full size in a new window:

ep. tl;dr review: Fate Stay/Night characters take part in Japanese game show; Ow, my prefrontal cortex!

Episode Summary: The characters from the anime series Fate Stay/Night are competing in the latest grand battle for the Holy Grail…except the latest competition has been transformed into a silly Japanese game show. As part of the first game, they face off in a card battle, followed by a tennis match, as well as other ever-more-ridiculous games, until the Holy Grail is ultimately revealed.

My Impressions: Wait a minute…this is supposed to be funny…right?

I imagine that if you’re a hardcore fan of the anime Fate Stay/Night, then a self-parodying version that does nothing more than poke fun at the characters, then this might be hilarious. I can’t really tell, because I have definitively determined I really don’t care for Fate Stay/Night, giving a clear thumbs down for the Unlimited Blade Works movie, followed by a clear thumbs down for the TV Reproduction compilation. What I *can* tell, however, is that as a non-fan, this was not exactly a masterpiece of cinema to endure.

Let’s be perfectly clear: The entire reason for this show existing is to appeal to the already-existing fan base for the various Type Moon franchise properties. If you’re already not intimately familiar with the various inter-related storylines, then I suspect a majority of the jokes will fly over your head — as they did with me.

It appears that the second episode will involve various “Melty Blood” characters. Unlike the Fate Stay/Night characters, whom I have a passing knowledge, I have absolutely zero knowledge of Melty Blood (hell, this is the first time I’ve heard of it). Looks like it’s all downhill from here. Time for me to get off this train.

The verdict:


For more information:

Sampling of Online Reviews:

  • “In the end, this OVA series is definitely for Type-moon fans. The sheer level of energy and thought put into the jokes made for some great scenes. Animation is pretty top notch too, which never hurts. For those that aren’t familiar with Type-moon stuff, I’d say that watching this will probably be a much less enjoyable experience. I personally think this was a ton of fun. Grade: 8.0/10.” – Emory Anime Club
  • “his show is hilarious. The unpredictable turn of events had pluffei and I laughing our asses off; I can’t wait for when the various casts cross paths. All I can say now is…episode 2 get here faster!!!” – Moar Powah
  • “I’m so glad that Lerche didn’t flub this. It’s just as well-animated as the PVs were, and it managed to be snappy, witty, and have copious amounts of fun with the characters and cast too.” – Tenka Seiha
  • “Did I enjoy it? An inane question, really – of course I did! Thanks to Carnival Phantasm I spent about 50 minutes of quality time, having fun and laughing until my stomach hurt. I shall say it again – for your own sake, do not watch this OVA if you haven’t played the original games. Grade: 10/10.” – My Anime List Reviews

ROUND ONE RESULTS FOR SUMMER 2011 SHOWS:

Thumbs-up for Round One: Busou Shinki: Moon Angel, Blood-C, Mawaru Penguindrum, Kamisama Dolls

Thumbs-down for Round One: Double J, Morita-san wa Mukuchi, Mayo Chiki, Nyanpire the Animation, Carnival Phantasm

Coming up next: Copihan, Yuruyuri, No. 6, Sacred Seven, Dantalian no Shoka, Uta no Prince-sama, The Idolmaster, Manyuu Hikenchou, Ikoku Meiro no Croisee, Kamisama no Memochou, Nekogami Yaoyorozu, Nurarihyon no Mago Second Season, Itsuka Tenma no Kuro Usagi, Twin Angel Twinkle Paradise, Baby Princess 3-D, Natsume Yuujinchou-san, Usagi Drop, Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu Second Season, Rou Kyuu Bu, R-15

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anime Review: Carnival Phantasm Episode 1

  1. Pingback: Anime Review: Recap of the Summer 2011 (after the 1st episodes) | This Euphoria!

Leave a Reply

