Anime Review: Level E Episode 6

Anime Review:
Level E Episode 6

What this is about: Watching all of the anime shows so you don’t have to! For more information about me and my reviews, click here.

Series Premise: Level E is a twelve-episode weekly television series that aired between January and April 2011, based on a 1995 manga series by Yoshihiro Togashi (creator of YuYu Hakusho). Unknown to Earthlings, there have been a steady stream of visitors from other planets moving among us in secret. When on such alien crash-lands and loses his memories, he decides to move in with high-schooler Tsutsui, bringing to an end any hope of a normal life.

Click on the thumbnails below to view the picture in full size in a new window:

ep. tl;dr review: More Power Ranger crap as boys play real-life video game quest; The magic is gone from the series.

Episode Summary: The five “Chromatic Rangers” visit Kraft and manage to get the key to remove the wristbands, except the geeky leader who is on a power trip. The next day, they are all magically teleported to a world that is one big role-playing fantasy game, and they realize they have to play the game in order to return home. Over the next several days, they spend time increasing their power levels and learning their powers to go up against the “main boss”.

My Impressions: Well, what do you think, Mr. Horse. Hmmmm, well….No sir, I do not like it.

Oh, how the mighty have fallen. Level E started out as an interesting, biting comedy show with the first couple of episodes, and now they have diverged into this derivative crap. I don’t want to see sentai team parodies, I don’t want to see role-playing game parodies, I want the return of Tsutsui as the straight-man foil against Prince Baka, like an anime version of Larry vs. Balki.

In fact, I do not like this enough that I spent some time considering dropping Level E at this point, even though I’m halfway to the finish line (it’s rare for me to drop something six episodes in). But I think I can tough it out to the end, with the hope that the story gets back on track. One thing for sure, though: this is no longer the darling of the Winter season. Yet another show where my initial expectations were let down as the show progressed (thinking it was heading one direction and missing the mark entirely.) It also doesn’t help that the “leader” character of the five boys (geek with glasses anime stereotype) is unsufferably annoying beyond all redemption. Also doesn’t help that we have (at least) one more episode of this lowbrow pap. I am disappoint.

The verdict:

For more information:

Sampling of Online Reviews:

  • “Oh, this show is brilliant! This episode was again an awesome that continued the Color rangers story and turned into a full blown parody here. The characters though were the ones who made it awesome. Grade: Awesome.” – Star Crossed Anime Blog
  • “I kind of miss Tsutsui now because he provided the much needed supply of chagrin to the calm and cool visage of Prince, who is moe-ly evil. I wish, he would return soon with Miho, who I was finally getting warmed up to as a character. You don’t really find real-girls like her in anime so it was actually a breath of fresh air that she has her own idiosyncrasies.” – Metanorn
  • “The shift to the new storyline in the previous episode brought us the Color Rangers and I have to admit I’m really skittish on all things sentai at this point. After being burned heavily with the first episode of Mitsudomoe this season, and generally not enjoying sentai shows in the past (while now being subjected to Power Rangers Samurai on TV as well), sentai material just doesn’t do anything for me. There was a fair bit of fun in the previous episode though as the Prince really messes with them with the way their powers work and how he’s manipulated them just for a laugh, but I had hoped that it wouldn’t be too much more than just a single episode so we could move on to something else. Grade: C. ” – Mania.com
  • “I KNEW IT WASN’T GOING TO END THIS EPISODE. I FREAKING KNEW IT. While it was entertaining I certainly didn’t laugh as much as I usual do, and found myself slightly bored. I also cringed at the absolute hideous digital animation of the RPG monsters, honestly I really didn’t want to see more of it since the puppets in episode 1. I wish they made it more, bearable to look at if you get what I mean.” – Angry Anime Bitches

Coming up next (not necessarily in this order): My Little Sister Can’t Be This Cute Episode 14, Hetalia: Paint It White (Movie), Karigurashi no Arrietty (Movie), Out of Sight, Naruto: Shippuuden: The Lost Tower (Movie), Kaichou was Maid-sama Episode 27, Senkou no Night Raid Special, Shiki Episode 21.5, Pokemon: Best Wishes Episode 1, You Are Umasou (Movie), Heartcatch Precure (Movie), Armored Trooper Votoms: Case;Irvine, Dragonball Super Saiya-jin Zetsumetsu Kaikaku, Armored Trooper Votoms: Finder, Major: Message, Armored Trooper Votoms: Alone Again, Golden Kids Episode 1, Tiger and Bunny Episode 2, Fireball Charming Episode 2, Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko Episode 2, Double J Episode 1, Busou Shinki Episode 1, Blood-C Episode 1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anime Review: Level E Episode 6

  1. Pingback: Anime Review: Level E Episode 7 | This Euphoria!

Leave a Reply

